Galeries du Diamant

那些最著名的钻石

the Cullinan Diamond uncut - replica

 

柯伊诺尔:光明之山

柯伊诺尔又称光明之山,虽然没有被制成钻石饰品,却是世界上最古老的一颗名钻。1304年起,这颗钻石就一直被印度酋长Rajahs of Malwa所拥有。两个世纪后,苏丹巴布尔入侵印度,它就落入了莫卧儿皇帝手中。

第五任莫卧儿帝国皇帝,沙贾汗将柯伊诺尔作为孔雀的眼睛放入孔雀宝座中。1728年,伊朗王纳迪尔•沙汗入侵印度后将孔雀宝座带到了波斯王国。1747 年6月19日,纳迪尔•沙汗在罗珊被Fathabad暗杀。在他死后的一片混乱中,孔雀宝座被拆除,并与其他宝物一起消失。孔雀宝座及其上的所有钻石,包括柯伊诺尔,再也没有出现过。

 
Kohinoor---Queen-Alexandra-2
The-blue-hope_diamond

希望之心

关于希望之心民间流传着很多故事。迷信的人认为这颗钻石由于偷自印度女神萨黑而会带来厄运。因为亵渎神灵,女神诅咒这颗钻石将会给未来的主人带来不幸和死亡。

希望之心的确切来源,其实是未知的。最有可能的说法是由珠宝商人达文尼1653年从印度安得拉邦贡土尔带回。不过,从达文尼的草图和笔记中我们不难获知,希望之心是一颗三角形钻石,重约115克拉。钻石的第一个名字是达文尼蓝。

1678年,达文尼将钻石出售给路易十四,此后路易十四又将其重新切割成一颗 67.125 克拉的钻石。并命名为:王冠蓝钻或法兰西之蓝,镶嵌于黄金底座之中。国王路易十五将该钻再一次重新切割后镶于自己的金羊毛勋章上作为挂件。

1792年9月,英国皇家仓库被洗劫,大部分皇冠上的宝石被盗。即使其中的大部分珍宝又再度重现,包括金羊毛勋章,法兰西之蓝也是在很久之后才被找回。1939年,法兰西之蓝出现在亨利菲利浦霍普的珠宝收藏发布会上。在此之前,人们一直认为是英国国王乔治四世收藏了这颗钻石。直到1902,这颗钻石一直被称为希望之心,并收藏在霍普的府邸之中。之后,希望之心多经转手,直至最终被哈利 温斯顿购得。几年后,他把希望之心捐赠给了史密森学院。

摄政王钻石

传说大约在1701年,一个奴隶在克里希纳河上的帕蒂尔矿上发现了摄政王钻石的身影。这名奴隶为了把钻石带出矿山,忍痛割破自己的大腿,将钻石藏在皮肉之中,然后缠上绑带,逃出了矿区。他向一个英国船长吐露了秘密,并提出可以与船厂分享钻石,而条件是船长必须帮助他逃离这个国家。船长表面上答应了这个奴隶的要求,但在船开到孟买时,船长谋杀了这名奴隶,偷走的钻石被以约5000美元的价格卖给了印度商人 Jamchund 。这些钱很快就被挥霍一空,有一天精神错乱的船长选择了上吊自杀。

事实上这些故事仍然未经证实。我们所知道的是,1702年金奈圣乔治堡的州长托马斯•皮特,即美国革命之父以高昂的价格从印度商人手中买到了这颗钻石。此后钻石就以主人命名,被称为皮特钻石。426克拉的摄政王钻石后来被送到英格兰切割。整个过程耗时两年,最终成为141克拉的垫形切工钻石和若干颗小钻石。其中一些被卖给沙皇彼得大帝。那颗巨大垫形切工钻石也成为当时欧洲最大的钻石,即使在今天,其颜色和净度也仍被许多人认为是已知大型钻石时中的佳品之一。

Regent-diamond-Le-Regent-Diamond--Credit-Musee-du-Louvre-4
 
1717年6月6日,菲利普二世奥尔良公爵,也就是后来的法国摄政王,以约65万美元的价格购买了这颗钻石。皮特钻石此后被称为摄政王钻石。国王路易十五在许多场合都佩戴过摄政王钻石,1772年路易十五的加冕典礼上,摄政王钻石被镶嵌在他的王冠上。1725年与玛丽•莱克辛斯卡结婚后他开始把摄政王钻石镶嵌在帽子上。

在革命早期,更确切地说是1792年9月17日,法国王冠在皇家宝库遭洗劫时被盗。,约过了一年多时间,在巴黎的一幢木结构房屋顶楼的裂缝内,人们找到了摄政王钻石。

执政内阁时代,摄政王钻石还被用作各种筹集贷款的担保。一次它被当作担保品抵押给了一个名叫 Valenberghem 的荷兰人。 Valenberghem 在接待他的朋友时向大家展示了这颗钻石。不过摄政王钻石归还给法国后,他承认自己所展示的其实一直都是复制品,真品一直挂在他妻子的脖子上。

Regent-diamond-Le-Regent-Diamant--Credit-Musee-du-Louvre-5

 

T1801年,拿破仑•波拿巴永久赎回了摄政王钻石。巴黎尚美的创始人 Goldsmith Nitot 被受命将钻石镶嵌在国王的宝剑上。在此后的王朝更迭中,摄政王钻石一直被传承延续,曾先后出现在路易十八、查理十世和拿破仑三世的王冠上,最后被镶嵌在欧仁妮皇后的王冠上。1883年,许多法国王冠被拍卖出售,但是摄政王钻石和其他几件珠宝被保留了下来。

1940 年巴黎沦陷时,法国政府把摄政王钻石隐藏在卢瓦河畔香波尔城堡中一块不引人注意的护墙板内,直至战争结束。此后摄政王钻石被收藏于卢浮宫内直至今日。

Dresden-Greeen-Diamond
 

 

德雷斯顿绿钻

1722年10月25日至27日,伦敦新闻报: 周二下午,近期从印度而来的马库斯摩西先生有幸向乔治一世陛下呈现了他的巨型钻石。这颗钻石翡翠剔透,陛下观赏了将近一个小时。陛下非常高兴。据说这样的钻石从来没有在欧洲出现过,是世界上最完美无瑕的宝石。他同时也向陛下展示了其他几颗巨型钻石,并声称以前从来没有展示过如此完美无瑕的珍品。25日,众多皇室成员也前来观赏了这些巨型钻石的风采,并为在没有金箔的衬托下这颗巨钻所展现出如此迷人的翡翠绿色而感到惊奇。最终这位绅士要价1万英镑。

钻石几经转手,后来弗雷德里克奥古斯都二世(1733 - 1763)在1741年的莱比锡博览会上从荷兰商人戴勒斯手中买到了这颗钻石,成为第一个拥有德雷斯顿绿钻的皇室。德雷斯顿绿钻因此而得名并被收藏在萨克森州的首都长达200多年。维也纳的戈德史密斯帕拉德用为德雷斯顿绿钻和德雷斯顿白钻分别为国王弗雷德里克奥古斯都二世设计了金羊毛饰品。这颗钻石最终被切割成一颗49.71克拉的垫形切工钻。如同所有国王拥有的珠宝一样,金羊毛饰品也被收藏在绿穹珍宝馆中。这些位于德雷斯顿城堡的房间一直被用作展示国王收藏的珠宝和其他宝物的展览室。1768 年,德雷斯顿绿钻和另外两颗白钻一同被珠宝商 Diessbach 镶嵌在帽扣中。德雷斯顿绿钻如今仍然作为 Diessbach 的作品在绿穹珍宝馆展示。

Orlov Diamond
 

 

奥尔洛夫钻石

在克里姆林宫钻石基金会所收藏的众多宝物中,奥洛夫钻石被许多人认为是最杰出的珍品。钻石的形状和比例通常被比拟为半只蛋。这颗重达189.62克拉的钻石身世神秘,它的起源已经无法追溯。

关于奥夫洛钻石的起源有许多故事,其中最可信的可能是这样:法国逃兵听说在斯里兰泰米尔纳德邦神圣雕像的眼睛上,有一颗令人难以置信的钻石。为了能接近基督徒不被允许进入的寺庙找到雕像,这名逃兵用了很多年改变自己的信仰进而掩饰自己的意图。他最终采取行动,从寺庙中成功盗取了钻石,逃往马德拉斯,避难于英国军队,同时出售了钻石。钻石后来被由一位名为 Shaffrass 的亚美尼亚商人带去了阿姆斯特丹,在前往俄罗斯的旅途中,Shaffrass 遇见了 Grigory Grigorievich Orlov 伯爵。

伯爵一直希望能重新获得俄国女皇凯瑟琳二世的宠爱。他知道女皇对钻石情有独钟。虽然他企图以此重温旧日浪漫的计划最终失败了,女皇还是接受了这颗钻石并以伯爵的名称命名。她的珠宝师 Troitinski 将奥夫洛钻石镶嵌进了女皇权杖中。

人们已经注意到,奥洛夫钻石与大莫卧儿十分相似,同样被切割成玫瑰花型,还带有少许蓝绿色彩。17世纪中叶,大莫卧儿钻石在接近叶宝山附近的印度可拉矿山被发现。以沙•贾汗,第五任印度莫卧儿王朝皇帝命名,就是那位在孔雀宝座中镶嵌光明之山巨型钻石的皇帝。据Jean Baptiste Tavernier 形容,这颗钻石形状像半个鸡蛋,边缘还有缺陷(奥洛夫钻石有表面标记)。奥洛夫钻石可能就是大莫卧儿钻石仍然还只是人们的猜测。

埃克塞尔西奥钻石

1893年6月30日,埃克塞尔西奥钻石被亚赫斯方丹矿山的一位非洲矿工发现。他向监工隐瞒了这颗970克拉的钻石,并直接带给了矿山经理。作为回报他收到了配备马鞍和缰绳的骏马以及500英镑。虽然曾经消失多年的埃克塞尔西奥钻石在大小上足以与大莫卧儿钻石媲美,当人们再一次发现它的时候并没有在国际新闻中过多曝光。可能的原因之一是,它一旦裂解成碎片就失去了那种尺寸上的优势。埃克塞尔西奥钻石与亚赫斯方丹矿山的其他钻石一样,都拥有罕见的蓝白色。由于这个矿山有许多蓝白色钻石,也被誉为jager色钻石(对钻石极白+色的旧称)的摇篮。如果一开始就认为jager色钻石是最好的白钻,超过了 river 色钻石(对钻石极白色的旧称),那么人们很快会意识到微蓝色调并非钻石的实际颜色,而是紫外线集中作用产生的荧光

1902年,Asscher 兄弟对埃克塞尔西奥钻石进行了切割。最大的一颗钻石原石为马眼形,重达69.8克拉,被命名为埃克塞尔西奥钻石1号。钻石一直被一个不知名的美国家庭收藏,直至 1989年格拉夫钻石公司收购了这颗钻石,又转售给另一位匿名客户。1996年埃克塞尔西奥钻石1号被Robert Mouawad 购得。

Excelsiod-diamond-(center)-The-Smithsonian

非洲之心(库利南钻石)

非洲之心是有史以来最大的稀世钻石,重达3106克拉(621.35克)。1905年1月26日由库利南第一钻石矿公司经理弗雷德里克•威尔斯发现。以矿产主托马斯•库利南爵士命名。德兰士瓦收购了这颗钻石并作为国王爱德华七世的生日贺礼。国王将钻石交给阿姆斯特丹的 Asscher 兄弟进行抛光。在做切割决定之前,兄弟俩花了几个月时间观察,最终才敢下手。

the-Cullinan-Diamond-uncut-discovery-Kimberley

 

据说,第一次下锤时,钻石竟然丝毫未损。只好进行第二次分割非洲之心的尝试。

最后分割成9颗大型钻石和96颗尺寸更小的钻石。

The-Cullinan-diamond

 

爱德华七世持有其中两颗最大的钻石。第一颗是重达530.20克拉的梨形钻石,被称为非洲之心1号,镶嵌在英国王室权杖之中,如今被收藏在伦敦塔内。

第二是名为非洲之心2号的垫形钻石,重达317.40克拉,在大不列颠帝国皇冠的前部中央处。此外,爱德华七世为亚历山德拉王后购买了第60颗重达11.5克拉的非洲之心切片。

其余较大的钻石最终被Asscher兄弟买下,并于1910年敬献给玛丽皇后,它们分别是重达94.40克拉的梨形非洲之心3号和重达63.60克拉的垫形非洲之心4号,它们一起被镶嵌在一枚胸针之中。非洲之心5号是一颗重达18.80克拉的三角梨形钻石。它最初被镶嵌在玛丽皇后的一枚胸针中,后来又取代光明之山成为她的皇冠头饰。非洲之心7号是重达8.80克拉的马眼形钻石,它被镶嵌在一枚小钻石胸针吊坠中,该胸针中间还镶嵌着一颗6.80克拉的垫形非洲之心8号。非洲之心9号是重达4.39克拉的梨形钻石,被镶嵌在她的一枚戒指之中。

莱索托诺言

2006年8月22日,莱索托诺言在莱森矿区被发现。这颗钻石原石是迄今为止发现的第15大钻石,最终在安特卫普以1236万美元成交。后来这颗钻石被切割成26颗独立钻石,镶嵌在伦敦格拉夫珠宝的项链中。这件作品目前估价5000万美元。

 
Lesotho-Promise-by-Reuters_Francois-Lenoir

apteka mujchine for man ukonkemerovo woditely driver.

Galeries du Diamant

Famous diamonds

the Cullinan Diamond uncut - replica

 

Koh-I-Noor: Mountain of Light

The Koh-I-Noor or Moutain of Light, is the oldest of all famous diamonds, although not of diamond jewelry. The diamond has been known to be in the possession of Rajahs of Malwa since 1304 and when Sultan Babur invaded India two centuries later, it fell into the hands of the Mogul emperors.

The 5th Mughal Emperor of India, Shah Jahan set the Koh-I-Noor in the Peacock Throne as the eye of the peacock. The Peacock Throne was taken to Persia after Nadir Shah, Shah of Iran and founder of the Afsharid dynasty, invaded Hindoostan in 1728. Nadir Shah was assassinated on 19 June 1747 by Fathabad in Khorasan. In the confusion of his death, the Peacock Throne was dismantled and disappeared with his treasures. The Peacock Throne and all its diamonds, among which the Koh-I-Noor, were never found again.

 
Kohinoor---Queen-Alexandra-2
The-blue-hope_diamond

The Blue Hope

People have told many stories about the Hope Diamond. The superstition was that the diamond had been stolen from the statue of the Hindu Goddess Sita. Offended by the sacrilege, the Goddess cursed the stone to bring misfortune and terrible deaths to its future owners.

The exact provenance of the blue diamond is in fact unknown, most probably it was bought by Tavernier in 1653 from the Kollur mine in Guntur district Andhra Pradesh. However, we know from Tavernier’s sketches and notes that the diamond was triangularly shaped and weighed approximately 115 carats. The first name the diamond carried was The Tavernier Blue.

Tavernier sold the diamond to Louis XIV in 1678 who had it re-cut into a 67.125 carats. It was then named: The Blue Diamond of the Crown of France or latter the French Blue, and set into a cravat pin. The next King Louis XV, set the French Blue into a pendant for the Order of the Golden Fleece.

In September 1792 the Royal storehouse was robbed, most of the crown jewels were stolen. If many reappeared, including parts of the Order of the Golden Fleece jewels, the French Blue was not recovered until many years later. It is believed that King George IV of the United Kingdom had the French Blue in his possession before it appeared in 1939 in a publication of the gem collection of Henry Philip Hope. The diamond became the Blue Hope and remained in the Hope estate until 1902. The Hope Diamond passed through many hands until it was finally bought by Harry Winston who donated it a few years later to the Smithsonian Institution.

The Regent

The Regent Diamond is said to have been found by a slave in the Parteal Mines on the Kistna River about 1701. The story is about a slave who stole the enormous rough concealing it in bandages covering a self-inflicted wound on the leg. As he fled to the seacoast, he revealed his secret to an English sea captain and offered to share the value of the stone if he would help him to travel safely. However on their way to Bombay, the Captain murdered the slave and sold the diamond himself to an Indian diamond merchant named Jamchund for approximately $5000. The money was very quickly spent. And one day in his delirium filled with remorse the captain hanged himself.

In fact these stories remain unverified. What is known is that in 1702, Governor Thomas Pitt of Fort St George in Madras, grandfather of the American revolutionary, bought the diamond from an Indian merchant at a very high price. The diamond was then named after his owner, the Pitt Diamond. The 426 carat rough diamond was sent to England to be cut. The process took about two years and resulted in a 141 carat cushion-shaped brilliant cut and several secondary stones, some of those were sold to Tsar Peter the Great. The massive Cushion was then the largest diamond known in Europe and is still considered by many as one of the finest of the known large diamonds for its colour and clarity.

Regent-diamond-Le-Regent-Diamond--Credit-Musee-du-Louvre-4
 
It was Philip II Duke of Orleans, then Regent of France, who bought the diamond for about $650,000 on June 6th 1717. The Pitt Diamond became thus “Le Régent”, the Regent in English. It was worn by King Louis XV on many occasions, like the coronation of Louis XV on October 25th 1722 for which the Regent was temporarily in the crown. After his marriage to Maria Leczinska in 1725 he started wearing the Regent on hi-s hat.

Early in the revolution, more precisely on September 17th 1792, the French Crown Jewels were stolen during the robbery of the Royal storehouse. The Regent was recovered a year later in a hole in a beam of a Paris garret.

During the Directoire the Regent had been often used to secure financial transactions. Once it was passed to a Dutchman named Valenberghem as a security for several loans. Valenberghem displayed the diamond during receptions for his friends, although he admitted after returning the Regent to the French, that it had always been a replica on display and that the original Regent had never left his wife’s neck who hid it under her bodice.

Regent-diamond-Le-Regent-Diamant--Credit-Musee-du-Louvre-5

 

 

The Regent was permanently redeemed by Napoleon Bonaparte in 1801. Goldsmith Nitot, the founder of the House of Chaumet was commissioned to set the Regent in the two-edged sword of the Emperor. In the following regimes the Regent was mounted successively on the crowns of Louis XVIII, Charles X and Napoleon III, and finally on the Grecian diadem of Empress Eugénie. In 1883 many of the French Crown Jewels were sold by auction, however the Regent among a few others were preserved.

When Paris was invaded in 1940, the diamond was sent to the Chateau de Chambord until the end of the war. The Regent was then returned to Paris and put on display at the Louvre where it remains today.

Dresden-Greeen-Diamond

 

 

The Dresden Green Diamond

The Post Boy, October 25th - 27th, 1722, London: "On Tuesday last, in the afternoon, one Mr. Marcus Moses, lately arrived from India, had the honor to wait on his Majesty [King George I] with his large diamond, which is of a fine emerald green colour, and was with his Majesty near an hour. His Majesty was very much pleased with the sight thereof. It is said there never was seen the like in Europe before, being free from any defect in the world; and he has shown his Majesty several other fine large diamonds, the like of which 'tis said were never brought from India before. He was also, the 25th, to wait
on their Royal Highnesses with his large diamond; and they were surprised to see one of such largeness, and of such a fine emerald color without the help of a foil under it. We hear the gentlemen values it at £10,000."

After having passed through the hands of many owners and merchants, it was Frederick Augustus II (1733-1763) who became the first royal owner of the diamond when he bought it from a Dutch merchant named Delles, at the Leipzig Fair in 1741. The Dresden Green thus gets its name from the capital of Saxony which has been its home for more than 200 years. Goldsmith Pallard in Vienna designed a Golden Fleece for King Frederick Augustus II with both the Dresden Green and the Dresden White, a 49.71 carats cushion-shaped diamond. Like all of the King’s jewels the Golden Fleece was kept in the Green Vault, a group of rooms in Dresden Castle used for the display of his collection of jewels and other treasures. In 1768 the Green Dresden was set into a hat clasp along with two other larger white brilliants, by Diessbach. The Green Dresden is still set into Diessbach’s work today and is on shown to the public in the Green Vault in Dresden.

Orlov Diamond
 

The Orlov Diamond

The Orlov Diamond is considered by many as the most outstanding of the treasures held within the Diamond Fund of the Moscow Kremlin. The diamond is often referred to as having the shape and proportions of the half of a hen’s egg. The history of the 189.62 carat diamond is rather mysterious and its origins have been lost in time.

Many tales have been told about the provenance of the Orlov, the most credible, probably the following: A French deserter had heard about an incredible diamond representing the eye of the statue of the presiding deity of the Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple of Srirangam. To get closer to the statue inside the temple where no Christians were allowed, the deserter converted and disguised his intentions for many years. When he finally took action and stole the diamond from the temple, he fled to Madras, found refuge in the British Army and sold the diamond. The stone was apparently brought to Amsterdam by an Armenian merchant named Shaffrass, who met Count Grigory Grigorievich Orlov on a trip to Russia.

The Count had been seeking to regain the affection of Czarina Catherine. He knew she had wished for the diamond. While his plan to revive their past romance failed, the Empress still accepted the diamond and named it after the Count. Her jeweller, Troitinski designed the imperial sceptre for the Orlov to be set in.

It has been noted that the Orlov strongly resembles the description of the Great Mogul, both having a rose cut and a faint bluish tone. The Great Mogul was discovered in the Kollur mines, near Golconda in the middle of the Seventeenth century. It was named after Shah Jehan, 5th Mughal Emperor of India and is believed to have been set like the Koh-i-Nûr in the Peacock Throne. Jean Baptiste Tavernier, to whom the diamond was shown, described it as shaped like a half egg and noted a flaw on the edge (the Orlov has a surface flaw). The possibility of theOrlov Diamond being the Great Mogul remains pure speculation.

The Excelsior

The Excelsior Diamond was found at the Jagersfontein Mine on June 30, 1893 by an African Worker who hid the 970 carats diamond from his overseer and brought it directly to the manager of the mine. As a reward he received a horse equipped with saddle and bridle and £500. Although the Excelsior’s only rival in size was the Great Mogul diamond, which had disappeared a long time ago, its discovery was not covered much in the international press. Probably one of the reasons was that its fragments once it had been cleaved were not of memorable size. The Excelsior inherited the rare blue-white tint from the Jagersfontein Mine. As this mine yielded very many “finest blue white” diamonds, the old term “Jager” was given to the particular colour stage. If at first it was thought that the “Jager” colour would be the finest of whites, surpassing the “River” colour, soon one realized that the slight blue hue was not due to the actual colour of the diamond but to fluorescence, a concentration of ultra-violet rays in natural daylight.

The Excelsior was cut by the Asscher Brothers in 1902. The largest fragment of the rough diamond was a 69.80 carat marquise shape, named the Excelsior I. The diamond remained in the possession of an unknown family in the United States until it was bought by Graff Diamonds LTD. in 1989, who resold it later to an anonymous client. In 1996 jeweler Robert Mouawad bought the Excelsior I.

Excelsiod-diamond-(center)-The-Smithsonian

The Cullinan Diamond

The Cullinan Diamond is the largest rough gem-quality diamond ever found at 3,106.75 carats (621.35 g). It was found on January 26, 1905 by Frederick Wells, a surface manager at Premier Diamond Mining Company in Cullinan. Named after the owner of the mine it was discovered in, Sir Thomas Cullinan, the diamond was bought by the Transvaal Government who presented it to King Edward VII on his birthday. The King gave the diamond to the Asscher Brothers in Amsterdam to be polished. Several month of observation had passed before one had dared to make a decision and finally place it under the cleaving blade.

the-Cullinan-Diamond-uncut-discovery-Kimberley

 

 

 

It is said that the first time it was given a blow with the hammer, the blade broke leaving the stone unaltered. The Cullinan split on the second try.

Additional cleaving resulted in nine large diamonds and 96 smaller sized diamonds.

The-Cullinan-diamond

 

 

King Edward VII was given the two largest stones. The first is a 530.20-carat pear shaped diamond known as Cullinan I or Star of Africa, which is set in the British royal scepter and now resides in the Tower of London.

The second, named Cullinan II is a 317.40-carat cushion-shaped diamond: the central front stone in the band of the Imperial State Crown of Great Britain.

Furthermore the King bought the sixth 11.5 carat Cullinan “chip” for Queen Alexandra.

The remaining larger stones were eventually bought by the Asscher Brothers and presented to Queen Mary in 1910.

Cullinan III, a 94.40-carat pear drop, and Cullinan IV, a 63.60 carat cushion shape, are set together as a brooch. The Cullinan V is a triangular-pear cut weighing 18.80 carats. It was originally mounted in a brooch for Queen Mary, and later replaced the Koh-i-Nor in the circlet of her crown. The Cullinan VII is an 8.80 carat marquise-cut stone. It was mounted in a pendant on a small diamond brooch, in the center of which is the Cullinan VIII, a 6.80-carat cushion cut. The Cullinan IX is a 4.39 carat pear shape mounted in a ring. And history also saves space for other famous rings that will leave you in awe.

Lesotho Promise

The Lesotho Promise was found in the Letseng mine in Lesotho on August 22, 2006. The rough stone, which was the 15th largest white diamond ever found, was sold in Antwerp for 12.36 million dollars. It was then cut as 26 separate stones and made into a necklace owned by Gaff Diamonds in London. The piece has an estimated value of 50 million dollars.

 
Lesotho-Promise-by-Reuters_Francois-Lenoir